Eating with intention

by Brittany Grace

Eeek.

I have been away from the blog for a while.

Been spending a lot of time staying up late, eating snacks like this (Goodness peanut butter and almond milk)

and thinking about relationships with food. And working with food. And working, in a sense, for food.

How to eat with more intention is a personal lifelong objective – a satisfying objective that I love to share with others. And, as Alice Waters has said, “I always make (my food) delicious for myself.” I think this kind of deliberate choice encourages intentional eating. Making your food delicious, even for you alone, means a lot more than just liking what you’re putting into your mouth at the moment.

It means really employing all your senses to savor food – enjoying the scent, feel, look, sound and taste of food as it is being prepared and eaten.

This means thoughtful shopping for the freshest ingredients, careful preparation, and  time to savor the taste of the food.

It means relishing things you find at the local farmers market, like these beautiful white eggplant:

(I cut them, salted them and added them to other vegetables for ratatouille).

It means savoring fruit that needs no embellishments, sugars or syrups to highlight its sweetness.

Eating with intention also means constantly learning about food. You have the power to never stop learning about it – it can be a very fulfilling lifetime commitment.

This commitment means lots of living and working around food, and exploring other places where people live, work and eat together.

Like Asheville, North Carolina.

I think this intention thing is such a rewarding endeavor.

As we begin to feel the first (teasing) kisses of fall, I want to make sure this intention stays with me.

Of course, there are always excuses, distractions and temptations to get in the way.

After one too many glasses of wine last night (an excuse),  I definitely hit the all-night Kroger with my friend Adrian for some generic “Fun Munch” ice cream  (a crappy temptation). Out of the carton. My stomach was not happy with this.

Anyway, the point is that when you make intentional eating a priority, eating becomes more enjoyable and makes you feel better. When those times come where you’re not being thoughtful about food, you notice later, and hopefully you file that information away for future use.

I have definitely made a mental note that ice cream after wine is NOT going to make me feel any better in the future. Ick.

But a handful of apricots probably would.

(I had the best apricots from upstate New York earlier this year. I spent probably 3 minutes savoring just one at a time).

And so, this week,  I’m going to be intentional and proactive about my sweets cravings. That means eating food that will help curb these feelings, and enjoying a fresh piece of fruit, or almond milk, or herbal tea, instead of Fun Munch ice cream, or a handful of old butterscotch morsels hiding in the back of the pantry. (#confession).

Do you have any food intentions to share?

Intentional late night snack:

Simmered pears with golden raisins and Greek yogurt

Pears – (I got some really delicious ones from Hendersonville, North Carolina when I was in Asheville last week. They were an Asian variety – Shinko, I think).

Anyway,  take a pear or two and cut into small slices. Put pear slices into a small pot with a small lump of butter and simmer over low. Grate a generous amount of fresh cinnamon stick and a grab a pinch of sugar (or in my case, honey), add to pot.  Add a handful of golden raisins. Continue simmering until pears and raisins are cooked through and soft. Spoon a dollop of Greek yogurt on top and more cinnamon-sugar(or honey). Enjoy with a cup of tea.

