Perks in the dead of winter .

by Brittany Grace

When the grasp of winter feels too tight around our souls, I am reminded that this cold season offers us its own type of quiet beauty.

IMG_0264

Rolling hills in the Blue Ridge Mountains provide a calm palette of color.

IMG_0309

The morning sun creeping into my dining room and onto my sister’s face as we share a breakfast of  tomato grits and soft scrambled eggs.

IMG_0219

Flowering pea shoots that provide a lovely, subtle sweetness to fresh picked arugula and spinach.

IMG_0146

A friendly neighborhood horse with a penchant for conversing over a fence and snacks of red apple.

IMG_0152

These little glimmers during the often desperate feeling days of winter provide a warm contrast to the skeletal trees and barren ground. Makes me get excited about peeling off my boots and standing in front of the stove to make a big pot of soup.

